Your SEO optimized title My title

Gluten Free

Gluten is found in any product that contains wheat.  If you are gluten intolerant or have a wheat allergy, then you want to avoid the wheat products, some of the obvious ones are:

  • Bread, rolls, biscuits, pizza crust, most breakfast cereals, tortillas, bagels
  • Pasta
  • Tabouleh, couscous and most rice pilaf
  • Doughnuts, pastries, muffins, cakes, cookies, ice cream cones
  • Beer

However, gluten is often found in odd places too.  For example, did you realize that there typically is gluten in soy sauce?

Always be sure to read the ingredient labels carefully to ensure the product is gluten-free.  Some of the not so obvious products that may contain gluten include:

  • Artificial colors and flavorings
  • Baked beans
  • Catsup/ketsup
  • Chutneys
  • Curry powder
  • Gravy
  • Hot dogs
  • Imitation crab meat
  • Instant coffee
  • Licorice
  • Malt vinegar
  • Malted milk
  • Miso
  • Mustard and mustard powder
  • Oat bran, oatmeal, oats, rolled oats, groats
  • Pates
  • Pickles
  • Potato chips
  • Pre-made stock and bouillon cubes
  • Processed cold cut meats
  • Puddings
  • Root beer
  • Salad dressings
  • Sausages (in the filler and binding additives)
  • Self basting turkeys
  • Some liqueurs, pre-mixed drinks, bourbon, whiskey
  • Sour cream
  • Soy sauce
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • Tomato paste
  • White pepper
  • Yogurt

 

9 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. Margaret Garcia

    I can not thank you adequately for the posts on your web site. I know you’d put a lot of time and effort into them and hope you know how much I appreciate it. I hope I’ll do exactly the same for someone else at some point.

  2. Dana Raquel Bryant

    magnificent issues altogether, you just received a new reader. What may you recommend in regards to your submit that you simply made some days in the past? Any positive?

    1. LIVING FODMAP Free

      We’re going to start publishing a recap of how we got to a FODMAP free diagnosis. Stay tuned! Should begin in a few weeks.

  3. click

    It seems to me that this web site doesnt load in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the same problem? I enjoy this webpage and dont want to have to skip it any time Im away from my computer.

  4. Zackary

    I didn’ think about that. Interesting

  5. skitty poop

    Love your blog!

    1. LIVING FODMAP Free

      Thanks!

  6. Scraps

    Just so you know, gluten is a protein and FODMAPs are certain fermentable carbohydrates–it’s the fructans in wheat, barley, and rye that act as FODMAPs, not the gluten. While looking for gluten free products is a good start (certainly cuts out one of the major players for many), it’s actually not the primary culprit.

    1. LIVING FODMAP Free

      Thanks for the clarification! You have provided a clear explanation for why grains like barley and rye impact FODMAP sufferers. As you say, eliminating gluten cuts out one of the major players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>